Which stage of human development is considered a period of sexual latency?

Question: Which stage of human development is considered a period of sexual latency?

If you are interested in learning about human development, you might have come across the term sexual latency. This term was coined by Sigmund Freud, the founder of psychoanalysis, who proposed a theory of five psychosexual stages of development. According to Freud, each stage is characterized by a different erogenous zone, or a part of the body that is sensitive to sexual stimulation. The stages are:

- Oral stage (birth to 1 year): The mouth is the main source of pleasure and satisfaction.

- Anal stage (1 to 3 years): The anus and the control of bowel movements become important.

- Phallic stage (3 to 6 years): The genitals and the identification with the same-sex parent are the focus of this stage.

- **Latency stage (6 years to puberty)**: This is the period of sexual latency, where the libido (sexual energy) is dormant and redirected to other activities, such as learning, hobbies, and social relationships.

- Genital stage (puberty to adulthood): The genitals become the primary erogenous zone again, and sexual maturity is achieved.

Freud believed that the latency stage was a time of psychological development and socialization, where children learn to communicate and interact with others in a healthy way. He also thought that this stage was necessary to avoid sexual conflicts and anxieties that could arise from the previous stages. However, Freud's theory has been criticized by many modern psychologists for being based on his own personal experiences and biases, and for lacking empirical evidence. Some critics also argue that human sexuality is not fixed or linear, but rather fluid and diverse.

Rjwala Rjwala is your freely Ai Social Learning Platform. here our team solve your academic problems daily.

0 Komentar

Post a Comment

let's start discussion

Iklan Atas Artikel

Iklan Tengah Artikel 1

Iklan Tengah Artikel 2

Latest Post